Pokemon! oooooooh you’re my best friend

When I was a kid, I was really into Pokemon.  I think it’s like a right of passage for children.. at least it was for little boys.. and I was basically a little boy, despite what my amazing body tells everyone.  I watched the show, the movies.  I sang the theme song like it was my last day on Earth.  I played the regular Pokemon games: red, blue, gold.  I played the unique ones: stadium, snap.  My favorite one, however, was The Pokemon Trading Card Game.

rare_pokemon_cards

How do I remember it was my favorite?  Well… recently, I found my Game Boy Color game, The Pokemon Trading Card Game.  And… well, I’ve been playing it.  Correction.  I beat it.  DON’T JUDGE ME.  I’m surprised by how much fun I had.  maybe it’s the strategy.. maybe it’s the nostalgia.. “whatever it is, she’s got”…

don’t mind me.  I was just singing.

Back to how much I enjoyed the game.  OH YEAH.  I bought actual cards, and I am now a member of the Trading Card Game online.  Do I feel silly playing a game my 9 year old brother plays?  YES.  Do I feel pedophile-ish when I am chatting with children on how to get this damn system to work?  NO.  But I feel silly again.  It’s okay though.  Because

I’m BUILDING MY ONLINE COLLECTION FOR WHAT WILL BE THE BEST DECK EVER.

expert

Will I feel silly when I crush all the children in a match?  NO.  I will feel superior, as does any grown ass adult who puts the smack down on some children.. who may or may not have equivalent skill.

baby-shaming-21061

One thought on “Pokemon! oooooooh you’re my best friend

Leave a Reply

