Graduate School is really liiiiike

So many posts, but not one about my research.  In the About Me section, I claim to be a graduate student of Mathematics.  WHERE is the proof? (pun completely intended)

I’m done with classes.  The struggle of learning and the feeling of incompetence isn’t as prevalent as it once was.. WHY NOT?  I feel like graduate school should always be a struggle.  I feel like research should be so much harder than classes.. because I’m delving into worlds unknown, paths unexplored, mathematics not yet discovered.

This is what research is really like:

gradlife

This is why I watch so much television and read so many books.  Someone else’s life is so much more exciting than mine.. because they may be accomplishing so much more.

It also doesn’t help that my advisor is the stereotypically crazy Japanese teacher, like from Karate Kid.

Image

They have their ways I guess.  Except, mathematics isn’t karate.. there are different types of learning and different styles of solving a problem.  None of mine are acceptable.  My advisor is also a bit more on the harassing side.. unlike Mr. Miyagi.. or maybe they are just alike behind the screen:

Image

But seriously, I enjoy my research because of all the applications I get to explore.  I know some Mathematicians who don’t even know how to, if they could, apply their stuff.  I’m super excited that I can apply mine to SO MUCH.  Summary:

I am currently studying the Nonnegative Matrix Factorization.  I see those wtf-faces.  I know what they look like.  My face looked the same way only one year and a half ago.  It’s not hard to understand.  Wikipedia does a good job of giving a general overview.  We’ve done more beyond the scope of Wikipedia, but if you are interested, that’s a good place to start 🙂  There are applications like gene pattern analysis, text mining, sparse coding, image processing, and so many others.  Maybe you’ll enjoy that part as much as I do.

So this is muh post about muh research.  And now you know why my posts are about other stuffs instead of this stuffs.  When you don’t make significant progress for months on end… well, why inform others that you are at a stand still?

Hashtag GradLife.

Leave a Reply

