Women ARE funny

My brothers tell me I’m not funny.  I can believe that.  My humor isn’t for everyone.  I giggle any time someone says something that could be considered a sexual innuendo *hehe*… or I make my own sexual innuendos *hehe*…  seriously, you’d confuse me for a 12 year old boy.  Not only do I dress like one, am as tall as one, but my humor is similar to one.  I can completely understand that I may not be that funny.  Honestly, though, I only do that sometimes 😉

giggle

I don’t really care what my brothers think.  I laugh at myself… because I realize how stupid I can be.  That’s okay.  What bothers me, now, is when they generalize to ALL women aren’t funny.  Now THAT is not true.  There are PLENTY of women that are funny.  I decided the other day I’m going to become a stand-up comic just to prove my brothers wrong (and probably many men as well).  I even have my very first skit in mind…  This’ll probably be a plan that succeeds as well as my plan to become the best damn punk musician ever…. which obviously didn’t happen.

So, in order to prove them wrong, I went on a journey through youtube.  I love my journeys through youtube.  I’ve found so many awesome vloggers and fandoms.  Anyway…  I’ve compiled a list of female stand-up comedians who deserve to be recognized… not only because they are women.  But also because they are FUNNY.  WOMEN ARE FUNNY.  The hair and the smile and the curves and the boobs shouldn’t be the only thing women are recognized for…

The first woman that comes to everyone’s mind is Ellen Degeneres.  Perhaps because the Oscars just happened, or perhaps because she’s the best Cover Girl eeeevaaaar.  Ellen is a talk show host, and she’s super funny.  However, I think most people forget that Ellen started up on stage as a stand-up comic before even her sitcom.  Here’s one of those early skits (and make a mental note of ’90s style… never again): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWOdNSh3W3U

Another famous female stand-up comic (apparently) is Kathy Griffin.  I’d seen her books and stuff before, but I’ve never caught her skits.  I checked some out on Youtube.. her stuff is a hit or miss for me… but she is famous and deserves the recognition: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GyvjTm53oUg

The last famous stand-up comic I’ll mention is Sarah Silverman.  I’m just going to mention here that I think she’s absolutely gorgeous.  Now I’m done.  The first time I’d seen her was in School of Rock, and had no idea she was a comedian until years and years later when I learned about her show on ComedyCentral.  I think she’s pretty funny: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EGt7xrUAapo

I met this stand-up comic once.  She was at OutRaleigh! in 2012, and I just happened to be with girls that went to Fortune Feimster’s alma mater… lucky me.  She’s somewhat famous now… appearing on Chelsea Lately.  But she’s also funny.  Here’s a link to one of her earlier skits: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgqYwdLNHxk

Can’t forget to mention Fortune’s current ’employer’, Chelsea Handler.  Everyone knows her as that funny late night television talk show host.  But she also started out as a stand-up comic.  Here’s a link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pibWUVD26zE

who says that women have to be funny alone?  The Youtubers known as The Gay Women Channel are hilarious if you are a gay woman and can laugh at yourself, or if you find gay women stereotypes funny.  The channel is primarily run by two women, Adrianna and Sarah, but they sometimes have friends who show up to help their funny out.  Here’s a link… go subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=haM7rzn8GfI

Of course there is Whoopi Goldberg.  She’s as famous as Ellen, and she’ll also be one of the first female comics you think of… because she’s awesome: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eTrwsEIl9Kw

WOMEN ARE FUNNY DAMN IT.  My brothers can shove it.  Like this post if you like women comedians.  Also, if you can think of any others, please comment and leave a link below so that anyone reading this blog can expand their list of female comics!

One thought on “Women ARE funny

Leave a Reply

