To Be Juliet’s Secret

Today, I was exploring Spotify.  The same way we all used to take advantage of Myspace:  go to a band you love, look at the related artist section, click on the one with the most interesting name, and then determine whether you like them or not.  I didn’t have to go very far for once.

The music.. so amazing.  I know I haven’t been very good about describing music previously ( https://werrrd.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/used-some-more/ and https://werrrd.wordpress.com/2014/01/28/the-used-reused/).  I use descriptions like:  I love this band.  And I guess if we don’t have similar musical tastes, that doesn’t help anyone but me.  I can’t say that I love To Be Juliet’s Secret, because I’ve followed them for less than 10 hours now.  But, as I’m listening to their most recent album Laced With Fear (2013), I feel like they are worth their own post.  For a couple of reasons: 1) They are unsigned which is unique (for a band this good), and 2) the music is absolutely beautiful.  If you love He is We,

Image

you’ll love To Be Juliet’s Secret as well.  The sounds are different, of course.  Both bands are unique (lead singers are different beauties and different sounds).  However, they tackle their music in much the same way, despite the fact that TBJS identifies as alternative rock and He is We identifies as Indie Pop.  What I mean is the lyrics are poetic and the instruments aren’t heavy.  By light, I mean they complement the vocals as well as tell a story themselves, but they do so without overwhelming the sound.  And this is done with instruments like the piano, tambourine, acoustic guitar, light drumming, etc.

I couldn’t find much on the band.  It doesn’t seem as though they have their own website, but they do have a Facebook.  They are located in Michigan, and consist of only 4 members.

I would recommend this band.  They deliver messages wonderfully.  I give them a 5 out of 5.

Image

One thought on “To Be Juliet’s Secret

Leave a Reply

